Quotes & Confidence

I like quotes. Any kind of quote, but quotes from writers especially (wonder why?). BrainPickings has more than a few, but I figured the latest by Neil Gaiman is worth more than a fleeting glance.

“The main rule of writing is that if you do it with enough assurance and confidence, you’re allowed to do whatever you like. (That may be a rule for life as well as for writing. But it’s definitely true for writing.) So write your story as it needs to be written. Write it ­honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.”

Enough confidence and assurance. Best part for me. I have always joked about doing something with meaning and purpose (just ask my wife). I agree with the statement entirely. If you show enough confidence in what you are doing – no matter how out of your depth you really feel, people will believe you and people will let you do whatever you want to do because of it. I have not always known what the hell I am doing and have tended to wing it. Whatever the end result, I have always made sure that whatever I do, I do it with a nice protective layer of confidence.

Makes a huge difference. Head up, shoulders back, suck in that gutt and face the world knowing that you are confident in yourself. Just try it. All of a sudden, the world looks back at you differently.

If you have doubt, stick it in the closet you open when you are alone and safe. Save it for when you can expose your soft underbelly in comfort. (yes, we all have one) Suggestion though. Dont expose your vulnerable side too often to company – there is such a thing as too much. Whoos.

So, why have I not considered this before? I struggle with doubt and a lack of confidence about my writing often (ok, thats enough of my underbelly) but I just never thought to apply the same thinking here.

Perhaps its because I have yet to believe enough in my ability as a writer to be confident about it… Catch 22 really.

Lanceolot

Leave a Reply

